Quick answer
Pick the impact driver on the battery platform you already own: DeWalt 20V MAX for the DCF845, DCF860 and DCF870, Milwaukee M18 for the 2953-20, or Milwaukee M12 for the 3453-20. Don't rank them by the torque figures. Milwaukee doesn't say what kind of torque its number is, and DeWalt's DCF870B page lists none.
Affiliate disclosure: links on this page are Amazon affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate, GearGuiders earns from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you.
Specs from the manufacturers' pages
We read each manufacturer's page on 2026-10-06 and give every torque figure exactly as labeled. Weights are from the manufacturer pages. All five are tool only, so a battery and charger are extra.
| Model | Platform | Speed | Torque, as labeled | Weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DeWalt DCF845B | 20V MAX XR, brushless | 3,400 rpm | "1,825-in-lbs. of MAX torque" | 2.35 lb |
| DeWalt DCF860B | 20V MAX XR, brushless | 0-3,800 rpm | "max torque of 2,500-in-lbs" | 2.8 lb |
| DeWalt DCF870B (hydraulic) | 20V MAX XR, brushless | 3,000 rpm | No torque figure on the page | 2.57 lb |
| Milwaukee 2953-20 | M18 FUEL | 0-3,900 RPM, 0-4,400 IPM | "2000 in-lbs of torque" (type not stated) | 2.2 lb |
| Milwaukee 3453-20 | M12 FUEL | 0-3,600 RPM, 0-4,000 IPM | "up to 1,500 in-lbs. of torque" (type not stated) | 1.6 lb in the spec table; 2 lb in a feature bullet |
DeWalt's pages show impact speed as rpm only; we found no impacts-per-minute figure on them, so there is no IPM comparison with Milwaukee.
Links to the manufacturers: DCF845B, DCF860B, DCF870B, 2953-20 and 3453-20.
Which one fits who
- The DCF845B prints a lower speed and a lower torque figure than the DCF860B on DeWalt’s pages, and weighs 2.35 lb against 2.8 lb.
- The DCF860B prints the highest torque figure of the DeWalt models here that print one, and has a 3-speed mode select.
- The DCF870B is the hydraulic model. Its Amazon listing says "up to 57% quieter", which is the seller's claim, not a spec we verified. DeWalt's page gives no torque for it, so you can't judge its power from the page.
- The 2953-20 is on the M18 platform, which Milwaukee says is compatible with all M18 batteries and chargers.
- The 3453-20 is on the M12 platform, a different system from M18. M12 batteries don't fit M18 tools, and the reverse is also true, so choose by the platform you own or want to build. See our M12 vs M18 guide.
Where to buy
DeWalt's DCF845B, DCF860B and DCF870B listings are sold by Amazon.com. The Milwaukee listings we checked are sold by third-party resellers, not Milwaukee or Amazon.
View the DeWalt DCF845B on Amazon (paid link)
View the DeWalt DCF860B on Amazon (paid link)
View the DeWalt DCF870B on Amazon (paid link)
View the Milwaukee 2953-20 on Amazon (paid link)
View the Milwaukee 3453-20 on Amazon (paid link)
You need a battery. Our replacement battery guides and Milwaukee M18 guide cover what to check, and the compatibility checker shows which packs fit.
Warranty
Check the brand's current terms. DeWalt's warranty page and Milwaukee's registration and warranty page apply to their tools, and Milwaukee's page lists exceptions including cordless battery packs.
FAQ
Is the DCF860 more powerful than the Milwaukee 2953-20?
We can't say. DeWalt prints "max torque of 2,500-in-lbs" and Milwaukee prints "2000 in-lbs of torque" without saying which kind. They are different labels, so the numbers aren't a fair ranking.
Are DeWalt 20V MAX batteries the same as 18V?
DeWalt's pages say the maximum initial voltage (measured without a workload) is 20 volts and the nominal voltage is 18. "20V MAX" is the maximum figure.
Do these include a battery?
No. All five listings are tool only.
Can I run the 3453-20 on an M18 battery?
No. It is an M12 tool and takes M12 batteries.